Workers' Compensation Toolkit

Return to Claims Kit Home

California Compliance

Posting Requirements

The state of California requires that all employers must post a notice of their Workers’ Compensation carrier alongside their labor poster and other required postings.

This notice is usually supplied with the Workers’ Compensation policy, titled “Posting Notice,” and has the following information:

  • Workers’ Compensation Insurance Carrier
  • Policy Number
  • Contact Phone Number
  • Claims Reporting Number

Failure to display this notice in a prominent place can result in a misdemeanor offense and a penalty assessment order with fines of $1,500 per employee.

If you receive a penalty assessment, you have 15 days to contest the violation in writing. The instructions are on the back of the citation.

You must post the "Notice to Employees" poster in a conspicuous place at the work site. This poster provides employees with information on your workers' compensation coverage and where to get medical care for work injuries. Specific requirements are contained in sections 3550-3553 of the California Labor Code. Failure to post this notice is a misdemeanor that can result in a civil penalty of up to $7,000 per violation. You must also provide newly hired employees with a workers’ compensation pamphlet explaining their rights and responsibilities. (spanish version here)